Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
Chat Board
 Top 40 Music on Compact Disc : Chat Board
Subject Topic: M-Disc Format, Another Gimmick? Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
AdvprosD
MusicFan
MusicFan

Online Status: Offline
Posted: 29 July 2023 at 12:26pm | IP Logged Quote AdvprosD

I've been seeing these pop up more often in my searches for blank media.

Has anyone used them for archiving? I've seen claims that they have a much better shelf life than nearly all other types of media.
It would seem to me that you'd also have to have an M-Disc reader on hand for a few centuries till they fail.

Just another fancy Blu-Ray format? or possibly something worthwhile?

crapfromthepast
MusicFan
MusicFan

Posted: 31 July 2023 at 10:57am | IP Logged Quote crapfromthepast

Dave - I was an engineer who worked in optical data storage many years ago.

My two cents: It's a gimmick. The M-Discs themselves may have an absurdly long lifetime without degrading, but the disc readers will be obsolete way before then. There's essentially no money to be made in optical disc reader/writers at this point, so it's only a matter of time before they're discontinued. (Are there any floppy disk manufacturers still out there? A floppy disk with a 1,000-year lifetime still isn't all that useful.)

What I'd recommend is writing your tracks to a well-supported medium now (USB external hard drives are a good choice for now), and migrating them from medium to medium as technology changes and evolves.

For example: In 1995, my Ph.D. dissertation took up ten floppies, and had filenames that had to conform to the 8.3 naming convention. I eventually wrote them to a CD-R, then moved them to an external hard drive, then moved them to cloud-based storage.